The 2017 Met Gala though…

Okay okay okay so what the FUCK was up with this year’s Met Gala? The Met Gala is an annual fundraising event for the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute, which is an incredible institute in a fascinating museum located nowhere else other than New York City. Every year the Met Gala has a theme, and this year the theme was Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons.

Rei Kawakubo is the founder and lead designer of Comme des Garçons, which is a shapeshifting, architecturally challenging and mesmerizing fashion line that is absolute royalty and pure art. Kawakubo’s work was the showcase of the 2017 Met Gala, with her breathtaking pieces put on display and preserved in the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute. Not only was her work showcased, but her designs were (supposed to be) the theme of the red carpet. Now the theme for the Met Gala is only a suggestion. While it is encouraged, guests will not be turned down if they are not wearing Kawakubo inspired art. Which is a damn shame because very few showed up looking right. Most in attendance entirely ignored the theme, which makes me angry because Comme des Garçons is EVERYTHING.

I understand why a celebrity wouldn’t want to show up in a cocoon, but Comme des Garçons offers other alternatives, like this look, or this look, or what about this??? The celebrities who showed up looking like some bullshit could have easily stunted in something inspired by these looks. Instead, we got some ignorance! But I give credit where it’s due, and some attendees did look incredible at the Met Gala this year. Let’s honor them now, here’s the best dressed at the 2017 Met Gala:

 

Lily Aldridge

LilyAldridgeNYT.jpg

(Image Source)

FUCK. This look is so fucking hot. I really, really, really love this, but where’s the Kawakubo? If this wasn’t on the Kawakubo red carpet it would hands down be my best dressed pick, but this doesn’t give me Comme des Garçons. I see a strong attention to shapes and lines, but it’s not the mind boggling structure of Kawakubo. Other than that I’m in love head and toe and need those boots.

 

A$AP Rocky and Ashton Sanders

APRockyAshtonSandersNYT.jpg
(Image Source)

I don’t know if A$AP Rocky is taking Ashton Sanders under his wing in this photo or if they’re both just repping Calvin Klien, but they both look really, really good… Damn. I’d say this time is the most ambitious we have ever seen men’s fashion as far as red carpets go. I am very excited about that. And A$AP Rocky is really leading the way, just look at those damn shoes. Is it Rei Kawakubo? No… not really. I remember A$AP Rocky going through a Comme des Garçons phase if I’m not mistaking. But I honestly think the group A$AP arrived with (Sanders, Barry Jenkins, etc.) were there to represent Calvin Klien.

 

Halle Berry

HalleBerryNYT.jpg
(Image Source)

If you want to follow theme, but not go overboard, this is a good way to do so. Halle Berry did that (and DID THAT) in Versace.

 

 

Amy Fine Collins

AmyFineCollinsNTY.jpg
(Image Source)

Love this. Honestly it reminds me of Violet Chachki’s half man half woman look from RuPaul’s Drag Race… Obviously that’s a compliment though! This is beautiful.

 

Lily Collins

LilyCollinNYT.jpg
(Image Source)

This is very cute. Lily Collins paid homage to Rei Kawakubo with this lil black bob hair cut and also this pretty and perfect Giambattista Valli gown. Very well done!

 

Michael B. Jordan

MichaelBJordanNYT.jpg
(Image Source)

Look at this, just look at this. Men, get your notebooks out because this is what you should be up to. Look how expensive this Ralph Lauren suit looks (and definitely is). The plaid isn’t a regular go-to, but it’s perfectly tailored (obviously) and the shoes are so fucking good, and the white dress shirt poking out, with that million dollar looking bow tie, WOW OK.

 

Helen Lasichanh

HelenLasichanhENews.jpg
(Image Source)

When I think of Comme des Garçons this is what I think of, and Helen Lasichanh is actually wearing Comme des Garçons here. The shoes are perfect and the hair and makeup are a beautiful and subtle touch to such a perfect outfit. Thank you Helen!!!

 

Blake Lively

BlakeLivelyPopSugar.jpg
(Image Source)

I’m mad at myself for this, but you can’t not put this on a best dressed list. This Atelier Versace dress is stun. ing. It’s not Kawakubo, but it gets a pass…

 

Nicki Minaj

NickiMinajEOnline.jpg
(Image Source)

I love this SO much. This is so good. Clearly Nicki went to H&M and said, “the theme of the Met Gala this year is Rei Kawakubo and I want to honor that, while also looking very Nicki Minaj.” This is so Nicki it’s stupid, but it’s also such a creative way to honor Kawakubo. Literally Kawakubo’s head is the belt buckle of this dress. Like, seriously! The details in the cape skirt part of this piece also reflect Kawakubo’s work so well, whoever designed this is really, really smart. And obviously Nicki looks great in it.

 

Ricks Owens and Michèle Lamy

RickOwnsMicheleLamyNTY.jpg
(Image Source)

Obviously Rick Owens showed up in his own work, but Michèle Lamy is giving pure Comme des Garçons and for that I am forever thankful.

 

Sarah Paulson

SarahPaulsonPopSugar.jpg
(Image Source)

I really do think Sarah Paulson looked stunning at the Met Gala, but the real highlight is this moment. Honestly if I turned around and saw Madonna and Jeremy Scott behind me I’d make the same exact face. Tell me you wouldn’t.

 

 

P. Diddy

PDiddyWordpress.jpg
(Image Source)

Tbh, I wasn’t actually in love with P. Diddy’s Rick Owens outfit, but I appreciate anytime a man doesn’t wear a basic ass suit. But more than that, I appreciate when an individual lays on the stairs of the Met Gala red carpet – omfg. Honestly feel as though Sean wanted to show off the fact that he had red bottoms on. But this moment is everything to me and I now have it on my bucket list to lay on the Met Gala red carpet stairs as well.

 

Rihanna

RihannaPopSugar.jpg
(Image Source)

YES. THIS IS HOW YOU DO A REI KAWAKUBO TRIBUTE. This is very clearly a tribute to Kawakubo’s work, while also very much challenging Rihanna’s personal style and the fashion forwardness that a celebrity who claims to be a part of the fashion industry should exude. The makeup is impeccable, the shoes make so much fucking sense, this is genius. I feel very happy to have witnessed this. This is how you wear Comme des Garçons.

 

Tracee Ellis Ross

TraceeEllisRossNYT.jpg
(Image Source)

This is so lovely, guys. Tracee Ellis Ross showed up in what would be considered an outlandish and odd Comme des Garçons look, but made it look so sophisticated and refined. Idk what kind of magic this was, but she looks marvelous.

 

Solange

SolangeBillboard.jpg
(Image Source)

This look is not Rei Kawakubo, which is a little disappointing to me. Especially because we’re looking at Solange, who is a legitimate fashion icon. Solange could have gone balls deep with this theme, but instead she went Thom Browne deep. I talked about this collection in my NYFW post, and called it my favorite collection from NYFW too actually. I still stand by that, which is why I let Solange slide here. I really do love that she wore the shoes from the collection. She wore the least ice skate looking shoes, but she still wore them. I never thought I’d see these shoes on a red carpet, so I’m feeling blessed. Solange, we’re OK.

 

Fei Fei Sun

FeiFeiSunAOL.jpeg
(Image Source)

This is another great example of nodding to Rei Kawakubo without doing the most. This is an Alberta Ferretti Limited Edition look that looks beautiful on Fei Fei Sun. I love the belt detail and the way it flows with the shoulders. Mmmm.

 

Zendaya

ZendayaPopSugar.jpg
(Image Source)

Everyone is saying this is very much Kawakubo, I don’t entirely see it though… But I do see an incredible look and I have to give credit where credit is do. Hair, makeup, dress, perfect.

 

BEST DRESSED

RihannaPopSugar

Rihanna. Duh. Head to toe Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons perfection.

 

 

(Header image credit.)

Who was your best dressed at the 2017 Met Gala? Do you agree with my thoughts on the buffoonery? What would you have worn? Also, nobody asked, but this is what I would have worn to the Met Gala if I was very rich and actually invited:

CommedesGarcons.JPG
Comme des Garçons Spring 2014 RTW (Image Source) *Close second
Leave a Reply

