2017 MTV VMA nominees announced, here’s The Sami Fisher Blog picks

 

The 2017 MTV Video Music Award nominees were announced about one week ago. In this post I will share the list with you and choose my picks to win each award. I’ll also let you know I’m hella upset because “Fade” was completely snubbed. “Fade” is one of the best music videos I’ve ever seen. “Fade” was my pick for the video of the year in 2016. However, it’s not nominated for best hip hop video, it’s not nominated for video of the year…. Also, Katy Perry is the host of the show this year. This blows! But there are some incredible videos, artists and songs up for awards so let’s go:

 

Professional Categories

These categories are not voted on by the public. I don’t have picks for most of them, but check ’em out:

Best Art Direction

Bruno Mars – “24K Magic” (Art Direction by Alex Delgado)

DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts” (Art Direction by Damian Fyffe)

Katy Perry ft. Migos – “Bon Appetit” (Art Direction by Natalie Groce)

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Art Direction by Spencer Graves)

The Weeknd – “Reminder” (Art Direction by Lamar C. Taylor & KID. STUDIO)

 

Best Choreography

Ariana Grande ft. Nicki Minaj – “Side To Side” (Choreography by Brian & Scott Nicholson)

Fifth Harmony ft. Gucci Mane – “Down” (Choreography by Sean Bankhead)

Kanye West – “Fade” (Choreography by Teyana Taylor & Guapo)

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Choreography by Dave Meyers)

Sia – “The Greatest” (Choreography by Ryan Heffington)

My pick: Kanye West – “Fade” (Choreography by Teyana Taylor & Guapo)

Biiiiitch. Like, I’mma let you finish… But seriously, Kanye West had one of the best videos of all time with this one.

 

Best Cinematography

DJ Shadow ft. Run The Jewels – “Nobody Speak” (Cinematography by David Proctor)

Ed Sheeran – “Castle On The Hill” (Cinematography by Steve Annis)

Halsey – “Now or Never” (Cinematography by Kristof Brandl)

Imagine Dragons – “Thunder” (Cinematography by Matthew Wise)

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Cinematography by Scott Cunningham)

 

Best Direction

Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful” (Directed by Aaron A)

Bruno Mars – “24K Magic” (Directed by Cameron Duddy & Bruno Mars)

Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – “Chained To the Rhythm” (Directed by Matthew Cullen)

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Directed by Dave Meyers & the little homies)

The Weeknd – “Reminder” (Directed by Glenn Michael)

 

Best Editing

Future – “Mask Off” (Editing by Vinnie Hobbs of VHPost)

Lorde – “Green Light” (Editing by Nate Gross of Exile Edit)

The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – “Closer” (Editing by Jennifer Kennedy)

The Weeknd – “Reminder” (Editing by Red Barbaza)

Young Thug – “Wyclef Jean” (Editing by Ryan Staake & Eric Degliomini)

 

Best Visual Effects

A Tribe Called Quest – “Dis Generation” (Visual Effects by Brandon Hirzel of Bemo)

Harry Styles – “Sign Of The Times” (Visual Effects by Cedric Nivoliez of ONE MORE)

Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – “Chained To The Rhythm” (Visual Effects by MIRADA)

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Visual Effects by Jonah Hall of TImber)

KYLE ft. Lil Yachty – iSpy (Visual Effects by Max Colt & Tomash Kuzmytskyi of Gloria FX)

 

 

Main Categories

Best Fight Against The System

Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful”

Big Sean – “Light”

John Legend – “Surefire”

The Hamilton Mixtape – “Immigrants (We Get the Job Done)

Logic ft. Damian Lemar Hudson – “Black SpiderMan”

Taboo ft. Shailene Woodley – “Stand Up / Stand N Rock #NoDAPL”

My pick: Logic ft. Damian Lemar Hudson – “Black SpiderMan”

Every year MTV tries to have these random ass categories. I don’t like this category, and if you’ve read “Exclusion of M.I.A. from MTV VMA nominations calls attention to refugee crisis” then you probably know why. I don’t want to choose a video for this category, but I choose “SpiderMan” because it’s visually and creatively my favorite.

 

Best Rock

Coldplay – “A Head Full of Dreams”

Fall Out Boy – “Young And Menace”

Foo Fighters – “Run”

Green Day – “Bang Bang”

Twenty One Pilots – “Heavydirtysoul”

My pick: Green Day – “Bang Bang”

This category is always off, but I pick Green Day.

 

Best Dance

Afrojack ft. Ty Dolla $ign – “Gone”

Calvin Harris – “My Way”

Kygo x Selena Gomez – “It Ain’t Me”

Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber & MØ – “Cold Water”

Zedd & Alessia Cara – “Stay”

My pick: Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber & MØ – “Cold Water”

#BestICanDoRightNowInThisSituation

 

Best Hip Hop

Big Sean – “Bounce Back”

Chance the Rapper – “Same Drugs”

D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli”

DJ Khaled ft. Justin Biever, Quavo, Chance the Rapper & Lil Wayne – “I’m The One”

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.”

Migos ft. Lil Uzi Vert – “Bad & Boujee”

My pick: Chance the Rapper – “Same Drugs”

Not only is this song one of the best, most beautiful rap songs released ever, but I’ve been in love with this video since I first saw it. This video deserves it all.

 

Best Pop

Ed Sheeran – “Shape Of You”

Fifth Harmony ft. Gucci Mane – “Down”

Harry Styles – “Sign Of The Times”

Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – “Chained To the Rhythm”

Miley Cyrus – “Malibu”

Shawn Mendes – “Treat You Better”

My pick: Harry Styles – “Sign Of Time Times”

I’m back to being a Debbie Downer, because I’m just not feeling any of this.

 

Best Collaboration

Calvin Harris ft. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry & Big Sean – “Feels”

Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez – “We Don’t Talk Anymore”

D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli”

DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”

The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – “Closer”

Zayn & Taylor Swift – “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker)

My pick: D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli”

Thankful for D.R.A.M. scrolling through these nominees. This video is ridiculous but I’ll vote for it.

 

Best New Artist

Julia Michaels

Khalid

Kodak Black

Noah Cyrus

SZA

Young M.A

My pick: SZA

YAAAS. Sorry but SZA is the savior. I fucking love SZA with all my heart and if I vote for the VMAs more than once, she’s the reason why. Vote for SZA, “CTRL” is everything.

 

Artist of the Year

Ariana Grande

Bruno Mars

Ed Sheeran

Kendrick Lamar

Lorde

The Weeknd

My pick: Kendrick Lamar

You can’t vote for anyone else in this category when you understand just how important Kendrick Lamar is. By the way, is this a new category? I feel like the VMAs have nothing to do with music videos anymore. Doesn’t mean I don’t love the visuals for  “HUMBLE.,” “DNA.,” “ELEMENT.,” AND “LOYALTY.” though. Because I do. I really, really do. As a matter of fact, “ELEMENT.” changed my life.

 

Video of the Year

Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful”

Bruno Mars – “24K Magic”

DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.”

The Weeknd – “Reminder”

My pick: Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.”

Told you I loved the visual for “HUMBLE.”

 

The 2017 MTV Video Music Awards will broadcast on Sunday, August 27. You can vote for them here. Even though this year’s nominees are less to be desired, the highs for me are so high that I’ll definitely be tuning in. Who are you voting for? Let me know. And for more music news, be sure to follow The Sami Fisher Blog on Twitter and Instagram. (Cover image credit: VEVO)

1 Comment

  1. I have a feeling Kendrick will get snubbed. SZA hands down should get new artist. She brings this energy and style that I feel too many people try to force nowadays. In my opinion a good portion of the nominees this year sound like everything else I hear on on every top 40 countdown. “Humble” should get video of the year. In a way it shows us how videos have become so focused on putting a powerful message,that art doesn’t just happen. “Wild Thoughts” is a good one too. Also the best choreography category is a let down for me this year. I am no dancer but some of those videos are mostly posing and hairography. Now some people might disagree with me on that but oh well. Normani (Fifth Harmony) could dance like that in her sleep. I don’t the video showcase her dance talent to it’s fullest. Side to side(Love the song) = spin class after hours . But the color schemes and costumes fit the video aesthetically to a T. And Katy Perry hosting just is like making another Pirates Movie, is it really necessary. The promos this year look they were recycled from her “E.T.” video but they ran out of money in the budget.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

